You are viewing a preview of this job. Log in or register to view more details about this job.

Resident Nurse - RN Residency Program, Critical Care Interview Track (August 2022 Cohort)

Hope. Care. Cure. These three simple words capture what we do at Seattle Children’s –- to help every child live the healthiest and most fulfilling life possible. Are you ready to engage with a mission-driven organization that is life-changing to many, and touches the hearts of all? #HOPECARECURE
 
Our founding promise to the community is as valid today as it was over a century ago: we will care for all children in our region, regardless of the families’ ability to pay. Together, we deliver superior patient care, advance new discoveries and treatments through pediatric research, and serve as the pediatric and adolescent, academic medical center for Washington, Alaska, Montana and Idaho – the largest region of any children’s hospital in the country.
 
In 2020, U.S. News & World Report once again ranked Seattle Children’s among the nation's best children's hospitals – for the 27th year in a row. We received national rankings in all 10 specialty areas evaluated by U.S. News & World Report, and are honored to be the only pediatric medical center in Washington to be ranked.
 
As a Magnet designated institution, and classified among America’s best large employers by Forbes, we recognize the importance of hiring and developing great talent to provide best-in-class care to the patients and families we serve. Our organizational DNA takes form in our core values: Compassion, Excellence, Integrity, Collaboration, Equity and Innovation. Whether it’s delivering frontline care to our patients in a kind and caring manner, practicing the highest standards of quality and safety, or being relentlessly curious as we work towards eradicating childhood diseases, these values are the fabric of our culture and community. The future starts here.

Overview

Join us as part of Seattle Children’s one-year RN Residency program! Seattle Children's is home to more than 2,200 nurses helping to provide compassionate care to all children and youth in our community, regardless of a family’s ability to pay. Our patients and families have access to interpreter and translation services in 130 languages, including, most prominently, Spanish, Vietnamese, and Somali. Seattle Children’s is committed to ensuring all patients and families receive access to quality care.  
 
Through direct mentorship and shadow experiences, as a Nurse Resident you will engage your pediatric curriculum and patient care orientation to help you develop into a pediatric nurse. We invite you to submit an application for our next cohort!
 
Also, check out this brief YouTube video about our RN Residency Program! 
 
– RN Resident, Critical Care Interview Track (August 2022 Cohort) –
 
Please read the following information carefully.
The next RN Residency Cohort will start on Monday, August 1th, 2022. 

All candidates who are selected for an interview will need to be available for the interview day held remotely via video conference call on Friday, June 3rd, 2022.   We will only have one interview day available.
 
For the August 2022 Cohort, the following departments will be hiring Resident RNs:
 
 
Acute Care Units
  • Acute Care Float Pool
  • Ambulatory Unit
  • Cancer Care Unit
  • Infusion
  • Medical Unit
  • Psychiatry and Behavioral Medicine Unit (PBMU)
  • Rehabilitation Unit
  • Surgical Unit
 
Critical Care Units
  • Cardiac Intensive Care Unit (CICU)
  • Emergency Department (ED)
  • Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (NICU)
  • Pediatric Intensive Care Unit (PICU) 
 
 
Please note: This application is only for the Critical Care units listed above. To also be considered for the Acute Care Units, you will need to submit a second separate application. There is no need to submit a second application if you are happy with being considered for just the Critical Care units, but you have the option to also express interest in Acute Care units if you would like. We will you ask for a preference between the two tracks in your application, but we will consider each application independently. If you are invited to the interview day, it will only be for one track or the other, not both.
 
Some departments may only have part-time positions available (24-32 hours per week)
Some departments will have more full-time positions available (36 hours per week)
Shifts available will vary depending on department. We have the following shifts available: day shift, night shift, evening shift and day/night rotating shifts.
 
Our application process: Please follow these steps carefully.  

Apply online to this job posting by uploading a cover letter, updated resume and complete the Seattle Children's employment application.  Be sure to include detailed information on resume regarding clinical rotations and/or senior practicum rotation (how many hours in each clinical rotation and department types).   
The candidate will be prompted to complete a brief questionnaire during the application process. The questionnaire will ask the candidate to rank their top three department choices, in order. See the department choices above. 
 
Job Description:
As an integral member of the Health Care Team, the RN functions within the Scope of Practice as defined by the State, the ANA Scope and Standards for Pediatric Nursing Practice, and adheres to Seattle Children's policies/procedures and guidelines of care. Responsible for providing safe, family centered patient care. Using the Nursing Care Process, the RN is responsible for assessing, planning, implementing and evaluating patient care in a collaborative method with the patient and patient's family, significant others, and members of the health care team. Nurses may be required to provide supervision and delegation of tasks to Nurse Technicians, Licensed Practical Nurses, Certified Medical Assistants, and others as defined by the State Administrative Code. Nurses assist in meeting Seattle Children's strategic goals by incorporating the initiatives to support the strategic plans into the daily work, i.e. Continuous Improvement and Innovation (CII), Accountability, Respect and Teamwork (ART), etc.
 
A Nurse Resident is a registered staff nurse who has worked less than one year and has been hired into the Residency Program. In addition to the duties and responsibilities described in the Job Summary, the Nurse Resident will participate in didactic training, leadership development, mentoring, and teamwork to support transition into practice. Additional information about the residency program can be found on our RN Residency website. 
 
This job applicatoin will close on Sunday, March 15th, 2022 at 11:59pm PST. Please make sure you complete your application before this deadline or it will not be considered. 
#LI-TP1

Requirements

Required Credentials:
  • Washington State RN license must be current and active no later than Friday, July 29th, 2022 in order to be considered for the Monday, August 1st, 2022 start date.
  • BLS for Health Care Providers is to be maintained at all times by all nurses unless specifically noted below. Note: current PALS and/or PEARS will be accepted in lieu of BLS, and must be maintained as current at all times. Employees are responsible for any costs (including time away from work) associated with obtaining PALS or PEARS certification if it is not a requirement of the position. (ACLS will not be accepted as a substitute to the requirements listed above.)
  • Pediatric Emergency Assessment, Recognition and Stabilization (PEARS) may be required depending on department.
  • Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) is required for all Resident Nurses in the following areas and you will have up to 6 months to obtain PALS if required by department. PALS is required for Resident Nurses in the following areas: Emergency Department, Pediatric Intensive Care (PICU), Neonatal Intensive Care (NICU), Cardiac Intensive Care (CICU), Recovery Room (PACU) and the Operating Room (OR).
  • Chemotherapy Biotherapy Provider Card from the Association of Pediatric Hematology/Oncology Nurses (APHON) is required within 180 days of employment for nurses working in the following departments: Acute Care Float Pool, Cancer Care, and Hematology/Oncology departments and must be maintained at all times. Training classes are provided by Seattle Children's as needed.
  • As per the College of American Pathologists (CAP) and the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), for RN's performing moderately complex point of care testing, a copy of a diploma or transcript of the highest level of academic achievement to be on record with Human Resources upon hire.
  • Some Resident Nurse positions require an on-call component. Frequency is variable depending on department requirements.

Preferred Qualifications:
  • Bachelors of Science in Nursing (BSN) or higher nursing degree
  • Clinical experience working with a pediatric population
Please note: 
If you won't have an active Washington State RN license by the required date listed above, please consider applying to one of our future RN Residency Cohorts. See our RN Residency Website for details on future cohorts' dates and deadlines. We generally offer four (4) RN Residency cohorts per year (February, May, August, and November). The job listing for each future cohort, will be posted on the Seattle Children's RN Residency website approximately 12-14 weeks before the start date.  
 
Our community welcomes diverse experiences, backgrounds, and thoughts as this is what drives our spirit of inquiry and allows us to better connect with our increasingly diverse patients and families. Our organization recruits, employs, trains, compensates, and promotes without regard to race, religion, color, national origin, gender (including pregnancy, childbirth, or related medical conditions), sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, status as a protected veteran, status as an individual with a disability, or other applicable legally protected characteristics.
 
The people who work at Seattle Children’s are members of a community that seeks to respect and celebrate all the qualities that make each of us unique. Each of us is empowered to be ourselves within this community, which cultivates and promotes equity, diversity, and inclusion at all levels.
 
Seattle Children’s is proud to be an Equal Opportunity Workplace and Affirmative Action Employer.
 
In accordance with new Washington law for healthcare workers, Seattle Children’s requires that all staff be fully vaccinated against COVID-19 on or before October 18, 2021, or before beginning employment for start dates after October 18, 2021.

Covid-19 Vaccination

In accordance with Washington state law, Seattle Children’s requires that all employees be fully vaccinated against COVID-19. All offers are contingent and your vaccine status will be verified at onboarding.

Our Commitment to Diversity

Our community welcomes diverse experiences, backgrounds, and thoughts as this is what drives our spirit of inquiry and allows us to better connect with our increasingly diverse patients and families. Our organization recruits, employs, trains, compensates, and promotes without regard to race, religion, color, national origin, gender (including pregnancy, childbirth, or related medical conditions), sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, status as a protected veteran, status as an individual with a disability, or other applicable legally protected characteristics.
 
The people who work at Seattle Children’s are members of a community that seeks to respect and celebrate all the qualities that make each of us unique. Each of us is empowered to be ourselves within this community, which cultivates and promotes equity, diversity, and inclusion at all levels.
 
Seattle Children’s is proud to be an Equal Opportunity Workplace and Affirmative Action Employer.